Platform 4 are a Sheffield-based composers’ collective.

Their focus is twofold; producing and performing an exciting body of original work and collaborating with a broad range of artists from other disciplines.

Recent commissions include creating new chamber works for Music in the Round: Russia in the Round festival 2017, a collaboration to create four new mini operas for Opera on Location, a concert of new music with flautist Rachel Shirley and a major collaboration with dancer Hannah Wadsworth and soprano Andrea Tweedale to produce ‘Embodiments’ – four pieces of staged dance and music-theatre. They have toured with with Ffin Dance to perform a collaborative work by choreographer Sue Lewis and Jenny Jackson, and created an installation at The Hepworth with sculptor Gillian Brent. They have composed works for performances with renowned contemporary pianist Philip Thomas, as well as presenting an innovative concert series combining all six Brandenburg Concertos with new works for the same instrumentation.

Platform 4 are Chris Noble, Tom James, Jenny Jackson and Tom Owen.


Meet the composers

Tom James

Tom Owen

Jenny Jackson

Chris Noble